Jon and Michelle. [Vancouver Proposal Photographer]

Jon emailed me about a month before his session from San Francisco, where he lives. He wanted to know if I would be interested in working with him to capture his WEDDING PROPOSAL on camera. It took me all of 2 seconds to say, “Oh, heck yes!”

He explained that he and his girlfriend were about to go on an Alaskan Cruise which would have it’s final port of call in my lovely Vancouver.  He had never been to Vancouver, but thought that it would be a beautiful city to Pop The Question in. His further research concluded that Queen Elizabeth Park, more specifically, would make the perfect backdrop for this once-in-a-life-time moment.

In the following weeks, Jon and I secretly corresponded by email, text and phone call to plan the big moment. Because Jon lived in San Francisco, I did not have the opportunity to meet him before the big day, so all communication had to be done in secret. This gave planning a whole new layer of complexity! As a woman myself, I know how persceptive we ladies can be, and I knew that one false move by Jon or myself could raise red flags, and Michelle could be onto us in a heartbeat! I absolutely didn’t want to tip her off, or (worse!) I did I want her to think that sweet Jon was ‘sneaking around behind her back’. YIKES! We had to be careful!

Having never been to Queen Elizabeth Park himself, Jon asked me if there were any specific locations within the park that I might recommend for the act to go down in. I immediately thought about the Waterfall. It was in a secluded corner, so they’d have privacy… Plus, it was surrounded on several sides by bushes, so I would have plenty of hiding spots. In lieu of meeting in person, Jon sent me photos of himself & his lovely Michelle… and even a text message on the morning of the Proposal to inform me of what this mystery couple would be wearing… so hopefully I could recognize the couple when I saw them.

Essentially, this was the plan: I would need to be ready and waiting at the Waterfall in Queen Elizabeth Park at 10:30am. Jon & Michelle would arrive shortly after. They had NEVER been to this park before, and fingers were crossed that they’d find this one, specific location without any trouble… and without cluing Michelle into what was going on. When they got to the pre-determinded location, at the pre-determinded time… I would be lurking in the bushes, ready & waiting with my camera. After I captured that magical moment, we’d slip off and do an impromptu ‘Engagement’ Session around the park.

Easy enough, right? As long as all parties followed these instructions to a T– it would be no problem. If they got there too early.. Or if Michelle suddenly decided that she didn’t want to goto Queen Elizabeth Park at all.. or if there were randomly hordes or tourists in our spot… the whole thing could flop.

Well.

Suffice it to say: It didn’t.

In fact, it was a resounded, incredible, magical success.

Oh, and she said YES.

One thought on “Jon and Michelle. [Vancouver Proposal Photographer]

Leave a Reply

