Stacey & Dan {Vancouver Wedding Photographer}

When I first met Stacey & Dan at their consultation, we bonded almost instantly over the lures of small-town living & the plight of teachers in this country. The conversation came effortlessly and smoothly, and as one drink lend to a second, and one hour turned into two, I found myself thinking, “Man, I really LIKE these guys!” It was a fabulous first meeting and it set the tone for the rest of my interactions with this amazing couple.

They said ‘I do’ on the lawn of ‘Barclay Manor’ in Vancouver’s historic ‘West End’ neighbourhood. Guests stood in the early afternoon sunshine, gently wiping tears from their eyes, surrounding the couple as they held hands and exchanged some of the sweetest, most carefully crafted vows I’d ever heard. I don’t think there was a dry eye present when Stacey read the vows that she’d written separately for Dan’s two children from his first marriage (the flower girl & ring bearer). It was moving to see her include them in such a forthright way. This wasn’t just a marriage between two people; it was a ceremony uniting 4 people together as one family. Just lovely.

After the ceremony, the wedding party and I moved onto the Stanley Park to take a few portraits and have a few laughs. And laugh we did! I am not sure I’ve encountered such a hilarious, fun loving wedding party before. Perhaps it’s because almost half of the group was under the age of 12… or perhaps we were just all feeling a bit giddy. Whatever the case, we had a total blast.

I wish this brand new little family a lifetime of adventure and laughter; I somehow doubt they’ll ever be in short supply of either.

|

Leave a Reply

